Easy 7 mile run and Energy Gels

Today’s run was an easy 7 mile run, and I seriously tried not to run fast.

Screen shot 2014-08-19 at 10.10.57 PM

Especially now that I know that I need to run a lot faster, it is very critical to utilize any possible means to improve my running. I came across Marathon Pace Calculator at WalkJogRun.net, and when I input the last 14 miler results, it predicted my finish time for the marathon distance to be 3:41:30 at the pace of 8:27 per mile.

And that is over 26 minutes and 30 seconds too late to qualify in my age group bracket for the Boston Marathon! A lot of room to improve, as you can tell!

According to Pace Chart: 7:00 – 7:59 Pace per Mile at RunningTimes.come, in order to run under 3:15:00, the pace needs to be 7:26 or under. If you look at the screen shot of the chart, the 1 second difference in pace makes one in my age group disqualified for the Boston Marathon.

Screen shot 2014-08-19 at 11.58.36 PM

Besides the fact that 7:26 is the pace that I must run at or by, but also the BAA will let the fastest qualifiers register first anyway, it is critical that I run a lot faster to be able to register before the field size at 30,000 entrants is all filled up. However, 30,000 is the field size for the 2015 race. It could change for the 2016 race, as in the 2014 race had a field size of 36,000, when the field size was 27,000 from 2009 to 2013.

Registration will occur on a “rolling admission” schedule, beginning with the fastest qualifiers. On Monday, September 8, eligible runners who have met the qualifying standard for their age and gender by 20 minutes or more may register. On Wednesday, September 10 at 10:00 a.m. ET, if space remains, registration will open for those who have met their qualifying standard by 10 minutes or more. If space remains, registration will open on Friday, September 12 at 10:00 a.m. ET for those who have met their qualifying standard by five minutes or more. Registration will pause on Saturday, September 13 at 10:00 p.m. ET.

If space remains after the first week of registration (Monday, September 8 through Saturday, September 13), then registration will re-open for all qualifiers from Monday, September 15 at 10:00 a.m. ET through Wednesday, September 17 at 5:00 p.m. ET. As during the first week of registration, race entry during this period (September 15 – 17) will be given to the fastest qualifiers in their gender and age group, as space allows. If space remains after September 17, then on Monday, September 22 registration will re-open to anyone who meets the qualifying standards on a first-come, first-served basis until the maximum field size is reached.

As a great deal of my attention is getting paid to improving my running, I am certainly looking into techniques that I haven’t applied and supplement for energy boost. I briefly mentioned about energy gels that I am very interested in taking in the wake of the noticeable drop in energy level during the last 14 miler two days ago. I’m still doing research on this, but I found some pretty interesting. I am not training for ultra marathons or long trail running races, but energy gels have become an essential energy source for most runners. Bryon Powell at iRunFar.com compares energy gels in his old blog post titled Energy Gel Comparison and it is very interesting to see how little has changed since December 2008. However, neither Bryon nor Pamela Nisevich Bede, who talks about Energy Gels 101 at Runner’s World, covers as much as Ben Greenfield does at BenGreenfieldFitness.com and the list of 12 fat-based alternatives to sickeningly sweet sugar-based sports gels that he has compiled is very impressive. And so far what I can take away from this excellent list of his are Justin’s Nut Butter, Pocket Fuel and Vespa. I’m going to order Pocket Fuel from Amazon.com because its high level of calories (280kcal) and fat (20g), and of course, less sugar. According to his rundown, it is made from 100% natural, whole food ingredients found in nuts, seeds and fruits.

Stay tuned for the next run.

How is your training going? What races are you training for? Are you going to register this September for the 2015 Boston Marathon? Have you tried the energy gels that I mentioned above? If you have, what is your take on any or all of them?

Tags: , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

