Run at Dusk – 7.03 Miles

It was one of those days. Maybe it was because there’s only 7 1/2 weeks left to the Long Beach Marathon race day. Maybe it was because I was not really impressed by the last Monday’s long run overall result. Or maybe it was because my body just needed to sweat.

I just couldn’t wait to go home, put my running top and shorts on and just run. And so I did.

dusk 3

I read an article Why You Should Train Like A Pro by Matt Fitzgerald this morning, and it made good sense to me. Of course, I read other articles prior that are aligned with the similar concept, which is basically you should run at a slower pace than the race day. This article specifically talks about how much training time you should allocate.

Closely monitored by numerous coaches and scientists, it was discovered that there’s a ’80/20′ pattern in elite runners’ training. They don’t train at high intensity all the time, as most of non elite athletes assume. As a matter of fact, they train at low intensity 8 out of 10 times, and Matt is arguing that it has been exhibited among elite runners not only all over the world but also over time. And this pattern is not limited to running, apparently. Matt writes that Stephen Seiler, an American exercise scientist based in Norway, had found that elite cyclist, Nordic skiers, rowers, swimmers and triathletes do roughly 80% of their training at low intensity as well. And, this 80/20 method improved race performance by 30 percent more in club-level runners who ran 60 to 60 miles per week, compared to a 65/35 intensity split, according to Seiler’s 2007 study.

Of course, if I want to know how this whole thing works, I will have to give Matt Fitzgerald’s book 80/20 Running: Run Stronger and Race Faster by Training Slower a read. But since it’s in a pre-order status, I will have to figure it out on my own for now, and what I did today was that I ran just over a mile at high intensity and then kept the consistent pace throughout till the last mile or so was left, and that was when I sped up and ran faster at high intensity again.

Screenshot 2014-08-27 23.05.37

It is hard to see what worked and what didn’t. But if I lay both split analysis charts side by side, it’s obvious.

Screenshot 2014-08-27 23.11.05   Screenshot 2014-08-27 23.11.48

The split chart on the left is last Monday’s long run and the one on the right is today’s. I had a very fast start (under 7:00) in the left chart but slowed down rather quickly. Although I was able to regain my momentum and keep the pace pretty consistently, like I noted in the last, my energy level dropped significantly after the 10 mile mark. On today’s run, I kept telling myself that I would not run fast and that I would not run at high intensity the whole time. It is also important part of training that I really need to watch the pace throughout a run, which will ultimately be reflected upon the race day.

Screenshot 2014-08-27 23.05.58

Overall, today’s run was very consistent despite the elevation fluctuation if you look at the chart above. Tomorrow, it is all about strength training.

The photo was taken at the corner of Washington Blvd and National Blvd. While waiting for the traffic lights to change, I noticed the decreased Moon shining right above the horizon, and the whole lighting was just perfect that only late joggers/runners or dog walkers can appreciate. And I just panned the camera for the effect.

What do you think about the 80/20 method? Have you heard about it? What is your method to run stronger and faster? Are you happy with the pace you currently have? 

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

