Monthly Recap

It is time to recap the monthly progress as we’re going into the Labor Day weekend, which marks the end of Training Week 4 (of the total of 10 weeks). It means now I have 6 weeks left to the October 12 race day.

In terms of recapping the progress, this is one of the reasons why I like MapMyRun. Of course, I am sure that other smartphone apps and its associated websites offer similar features (such as Nike+ comes into mind), but like I noted in the beginning of my blog, I had been a long time MapMyRun user even before smartphone apps have become as ubiquitous as what they are today. I’ve been a MapMyRun member since August 2, 2007. And I’ve seen how these OS app and its companion apps, such as MapMyRide, MapMyHike, MapMyWalk, MapMyFitness, have made their progresses. In a better way, of course.

And, on a side note, MapMyFitness announced a few months ago that they were joining Under Armour and recently that all the MapMyFitness accounts would be converted to Under Armour accounts, which is a big deal. With the full financial support that they are getting from Under Armour, MapMyFitness and all the interconnected sister apps will be revamped and offer more and better features and events than what they have now. I’m totally psyched about it.

So, here’s my monthly recap for August.

Screenshot 2014-08-29 22.27.42

  • Week 1: 19.1 miles
  • Week 2: 20.3 miles
  • Week 3: 25.2 miles
  • Week 4: 28.78 miles (Like I explained in my Sunset Run posted past Monday, the total run on 8/25 was 15.27 miles)

Screenshot 2014-08-29 22.28.28

I am pretty much right on schedule in terms of weekly mileage tallies. And even better that since I am going to run 17 miles tomorrow (Saturday), it will put me one week ahead of my training schedule.

Screenshot 2014-08-29 22.31.40

In terms of calorie burn, I reached my personal best on August 17th, which was 1,736kCal, and second best was 1,686kCal on 8/25, past Monday. Obviously, more I run, the more calories I burn. Simple math. And because of that, I’ve been able to shed some pounds, and I currently weigh in the range of 144.5 – 147.8 lbs. Like I always tell people who want to lose weight, there’s the best and fastest way to do that, and that is cardio. Cardio, cardio, cardio. Since I started my training, I’ve lost about 9 lbs.

Screenshot 2014-08-29 22.31.49

Of course, as weeks go by, the amount of mileage increases. And the last 4 weeks have been a good amount of time to gauge where I stand and help me see what areas I should improve.

Speaking of what areas I should improve, today was a strength training day, so I hit the gym. Same as last Thursday, my goal was to strengthen core and lower-body: quads, glutes and hamstrings.

  • Core – push-ups, planks, crunches
  • Lower-body – bodyweight squats, single-leg deadlifts, single-leg squats

I feel that my legs are getting stronger and have seen a bit of progress that I am making. My plan for tomorrow is to run 7:30. If I reach my goal, for the next 6 weeks, I will work on reducing that extra 4 seconds – 7:26. It is the difference that would make who’s qualified and who’s not. Of course, the BAA always have and always will let the fastest register first, 7:26 or way under is always better, but Rome wasn’t built in a day. I will get there. I will cross that finish line. It’s just not happening in 2015 but 2016. I’ve just got more time to prepare. And that’s a good thing.

How’s your monthly recap? Have you made progress that you hoped to accomplish? Where are you standing? What areas do you think you have to work more on?

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

