Morning Run – 6.52 Miles and Strength Training

Another morning run day. I was going to run 8 miles, but the plan changed at the last minute due to the fact that I got up a bit late. Also, I would have not made it home in time for the scheduled maintenance in my apartment if I did run 8 miles. So, I cut my run short, but unfortunately, the maintenance guys never showed up.

boston-marathon

However, I am rather pleased about the average pace of 7:20. Frankly, as I started running, I didn’t feel like my body got enough rest. But the average pace turned out to be better than yesterday’s. And it definitely is under 7:26, which is my ultimate goal to be qualified for the Boston Marathon.

Screenshot 2014-09-04 23.42.14

Distance and elevation wise, it was same as yesterday’s.

Screenshot 2014-09-04 23.42.27

The only thing that I see I did differently today was the 3rd mile average pace, which was under 7 minutes. Of course, I fell back immediately in the next mile down to 7:29. I am glad that I was able to keep 3 miles under 7:20 though.

In the evening I stopped by Adventure 16 on Pico Blvd. and picked up a couple of packets of energy gels – Gu Tri-Berry and Clif Shots Razz, which I will take this Saturday when I run 18 miles along with Pocket Fuel. My plan is to take one in every half hour. Of course, it’ll be more than 2 hours, but since Pocket Fuel is 2 serving per container, it should be enough.

Today’s strength training consisted of core and lower-body for glutes, hamstrings and quads.

  • Core – Crunches, planks, push-ups
  • Lower-body – bodyweight squats, single-leg deadlifts, single-leg squats

How is your run today? Did you see progress? Did you do strength training today? 

Thanks you for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

