Gearing Up for Boston – 6.97 Miles

Perfect morning to run. So, I ran.

Screenshot 2014-09-08 21.49.14

As much as I got disappointed by the run that got cut short last Saturday, last night I came across a Facebook post that someone is going to Boston. She ran the Ventura Marathon over the past weekend and became a Boston Marathon qualifier. Good for her. She is not only a fast hiker but also now a Boston Marathon qualifier.

It is my goal. Unfortunately, I’d be running in 2016 (if I become a qualifier, that is) when she actually gets to run next year. That is something that made me rethink about my goal.

In fact, registration for the 2015 Boston Marathon opened this morning. Double checked Qualifying Standards, and I have to run under 3hrs 15min 00sec, which translates into a 7:26 pace.

Screenshot 2014-09-08 21.39.08

I used the Registration Calculator to see when I could ‘register’ if I had a qualifying result in hand, and when I put in a hypothetical 3 hours and 0 minute time, it asked me to register this Wednesday. Even though the hypothetical time was 15 minutes ahead of the qualifying time for my age bracket, I still have to wait for 2 days to register. Very interesting.

Screenshot 2014-09-08 21.33.29

My pace was 7:26. The usual path.

Screenshot 2014-09-08 21.33.48

Although I ran at a pace of 7:26, I think I could run faster. If I could get up early and get my body awake early, that is. It felt like my body wasn’t fully awake for the first mile or so this morning. Also, breakfast would help too.

I am planning to run 10 or 11 miles tomorrow to seriously up my game. Of course, I won’t be able to run next year in Boston, that doesn’t mean that I can’t be qualified at the Long Beach Marathon for the 2016 Boston Marathon.

I will run in Boston. I will make that goal reality.

Did you register for the Boston Marathon today? If not, when are you going to? What is your  your qualifying time? How do you keep motivating yourself to stay the course and reach your goal?

Thank you for reading.

Tags: , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

