10.5 Miles after Strength Training

The sunset view from the Venice Beach Boardwalk is always gorgeous.

photo 4

And this is exactly the 5 mile mark from my place. I turned left here and kept running southbound till I hit Washington Blvd., where all kinds of restaurants and bars are lit up and filled with happy customers. It is a Thursday night, so it was quite crowded and so many cars in the street congesting the dead end area, except for the pricy Boardwalk parking, while trying to find street parking.

I’ve noticed two things today during the run.

  • Strength training result has started showing
  • Energy gels kicked in a few times

Yesterday was my strength training day.

pistol+squat

My lower-body workouts consist of bodyweight squats, single-leg deadlifts and single-leg squats. 5 sets 10 reps each.

  • Bodyweight squats
    • First off, I think this is one of the major workouts that I am benefitting from. I can feel that my quads are thoroughly worked on. And I felt that I didn’t really have to put too much effort into running faster. Of course, eventually it ran out of steam.
  • Single-leg deadlifts
    • This is the least favorite workout of mine and I do not feel that I am benefiting much from this. Although I was told that it fires up my glutes, which is supposed to prevent injuries and helps gain more strength in the long run , but to me it seems like it takes time.
  • Single-leg squats
    • I love this workout because it involves a few different skills, such as stability. And eventually I want to be able to do a pistol squat.

119_2

My core workouts are as following.

  • Planks
    • Suposedly, the plank workouts help develop strength in the core, shoulders, arms and glutes. And I do three different variations – normal face-down prone plank and two side planks. 3 sets 1 minute each.
  • Push-ups
    • I have 4 variations: normal shoulder length push-up, wider than shoulder length push-up, diamond pushup and elevated leg and diamond pushup. 3 sets 10 reps each.
  • Crunches
    • Reverse crunch and side (oblique) reverse crunches. 3 sets 10 reps each. Once I am done with the sets, I totally feel that my abs are toned up nicely.
    • These are all done by lifting legs as shown in the photo above.

And I am really glad that I’ve started seeing the progress through these strength training workouts.

Screenshot 2014-09-11 22.51.49

It still needs to be pushed further and faster. If I run 10.5 miles at the average pace of 7:29, how slow am I going to run the whole marathon, which is 26 miles and 385 yards? For the next 4 weeks, my main focus would be strength training.

How is your training coming along? Do you do strength training? How often do you work on your lower-body? Do you have particular workouts for the core and glutes, quads and hamstrings?

Thank you for reading.

Tags: , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

