Recovery Run #2 – 4.66 miles

It was another day for a recovery run.

plantar_fasciitis_clip_image001

And to my surprise, the pain in the bottom of my left foot came back. And I didn’t want to make it worse, so I stopped at 4.66 miles.

Screenshot 2014-09-30 21.21.47

I am not sure if it is plantar fasciitis. Based on the articles that I found online, my pain fits the symptoms to a degree. According to Runner’s World, apparently about 15% of all running injuries strike the foot. No surprise there. I have no problem when I walk, though. So, maybe it is at the mild stage. I really do hope that it isn’t a tear (and I don’t think it is, because if it were, it would’ve been too painful to even walk,  I suspect) but just inflammation of the tendons and ligaments.

And as I suspected it here, it appears that Salomon SpeedCross 3’s lack of sole support caused it. I wonder if ‘excessive stretching’ could be caused by such lack of sole support in the new shoes. My feet are close to flat, so it might have contributed to a degree as well.

I was going to run about 10 miles today and 16 miles or so Thursday to get back on track, but maybe those semi-long runs have to wait for a few more days.

Screenshot 2014-09-30 21.22.05

The Long Beach Marathon race day is now only 12 days away. These unexpected (and they always come unexpectedly, don’t they) setbacks, starting with the major ankle sprain in my left foot last Wednesday, and then this arch pain last Sunday, cost me the Whitney hike as well as a 22 mile training run on the weekend.

Let’s hope that it heals up rather quickly. As I write this, I am icing it.

Have you had plantar fasciitis? If you did, how did you rehab it? How long did it take? How did you avoid a relapse?

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

