Plantar Fasciitis and home remedies

A combination of these three - Feetures sleeve socks - can ease the plantar fasciitis pain

I’ve been lying low due to my plantar fasciitis for the last few days. I have not run since last Wednesday and have been attending to this current problem. So far, regrettably it cost me a good, long hike yesterday, and I am still not seeing a huge improvement. And the Long Beach Marathon is only 6 days left.

I’ve been reading a lot of home remedy articles online for plantar fasciitis. Who knew that plantar fasciitis and fascia would become the words that I most looked up and am most writing about this year. Trust me. I thought it would be hiking, backpacking or JMT. Who knew. And yet, 10% of the runners out there suffer from this. Unfortunately, I have become one of those folks and am trying not to fall victim to this as the race day looms less than a week away.

Like I discussed it here, I have compared the insoles that I am currently using and what’s available out there. I am very much content with my current brand Footbalance, which is custom molded insoles. I got them from Road Runner Sports when I purchased my current ASICS Men’s Gel-Kayano over a year ago. But, of course, it’s sold at a cheaper price at Amazon.

Based on the online articles that I’ve read, these are the points that I can walk away with and actually have been applying some of these as remedies:

  • Stretch the fascia
    • Increase flexibility of the Achilles and plantar fascia
  • Roll a frozen water bottle under the arch
    • Reduce inflammation
    • Ease tension
  • Massage the fascia
    • Release tension in the plantar fascia
  • Bump your arch
    • Wear supportive footwear
    • Custom-made orthotics
  • Take ibuprofen (or Advil, Motrin), naproxen (Aleve) aspirin
    • Reduce inflammation
    • Pain relievers or nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug (NSAID)

Since the healing progress is rather slower than I expected, I’ve decided to take a close look at the ‘Bump your arch’ and see what else I could do.

I made a trip to the Road Runner Sports store in Santa Monica earlier this morning and had one of the sales reps assess the current status of my ASICS Men’s Gel-Kayano shoes and Footbalance insoles. As I guessed, he agreed that I could add extra 100 miles or so on each although the insoles have lost a bit of support in the arch area, which is natural, considering it’s been over a year already. It may have racked up 311 miles on both of them so far (or more because I put them on yesterday when I went to the gym for strength training), but the bottom line is that they are still in pretty good shape. The sales rep explained what kind of signs I would see once they reach the end of their lifecycle.

photo 4

Like I discussed it in the previous post, I was on the lookout for Superfeet Green Premium Insoles, and contrary to the initial research, Road Runner Sports actually carry SuperFeet, or at least the Santa Monica location does, so I tried them on at the spot. The sale rep discretionally indicated that I would have better support with them than my current Footbalance insoles since the first has firmness that I wanted, it being new, and it is also a cheaper option at the moment, compared to having a new pair of FootBalance entirely. My thought is that once the race is over, I can use the SuperFeet insoles in my Salomon Men’s Speedcross 3 Trail Running Shoes for hiking since it really needs good sole support.

Feetures sleeve socks can ease the plantar fasciitis pain

Another add-on about which I had a quick conversation with the sale rep is plantar fasciitis sleeves. I found this – Feetures! Plantar Fasciitis Sleeve Sock – Black Medium and my initial research on it on Amazon showed that it worked for some and didn’t work for some. It sounded more like a crap shoot. So, I didn’t think this would be the miracle solution. However, I think that this may be an option to add support to the arch during the run. Just like knee braces that I use for my bad knees, and my knee braces actually work fine.

Upon having less than a week of time left, I will probably go for a short 5-6 mile run if it heals to a degree in time. And then, the marathon run. As long as I can secure whatever amount of time while running the race, I can just take weeks off from running altogether till it is completely healed. It only has to secure 3 hours and 15 minutes. Ideally.

photo 2

And the last item that I am adding is Due North Foot Rubz Foot Hand and Back Massage Ball, a hard rubber ball that massages by applied pressure. It will be used alternatively with the frozen water bottle for massaging. Golf balls are recommended, but since I don’t have one, it is fine to have one. Besides, I can carry this rubber ball with me to anywhere.

The good thing about being a VIP member with Road Runner Sports is;

  • I can exchange a pair of shoes that I have worn with however many miles on within 90 days. Even with clear wears. A friend of mine just exchanged his shoes on which he had 300 plus miles with a new pair.
  • For the rest of the items I purchase, they have the 30-day return policy, which means I can return them if I do not see any progress from them or disapprove them. So, this is the policy that I can take advantage of in case these items don’t work.

Let’s see how the progress is being made. Less than a week. I am really hoping that I can run the race. It’ll be quite disappointing if I can’t. I was so anxious a couple of days ago that I may not be able to run the race, so I went ahead and registered for the Surf City Marathon, which will be held on February 1 next year, as a backup plan. I have not decided on the LA Marathon yet, whose registration opened as of October 1.

How was your run this week? Did you have plantar fasciitis? Did you home remedy it or medically treat it? How have you been able to avoid a relapse?

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

