3 mile recovery run on day of 2014 NYC Marathon

02-12-13-carrera-solidaria

I had a feeling that I could run. And I wanted to run. It was a recovery run time. At least 2-3 miles, I told myself.

The temperature has dropped due to the rain Friday night, so I decided not to go hiking Saturday morning while giving my left foot more time to rest. So, part of me wanted to make up for the lack of outdoor exercise and also to see where it is at in terms of my left foot’s recovery progress. Like I noted in the previous post, it has been already over a month since the injury occurred, and as a matter of fact, I have seen a gradual recovery progress, including the recent 10 minute runs on the treadmill. But I couldn’t hold it back any longer. It was time to put it to the test. In the street. Even just for 3 miles.

It was sunny with a blue sky. Not many clouds. 62oF. And the gentle and cool breeze accompanied me throughout the whole 3.06 miles. And it felt great!

Screenshot 2014-11-02 13.18.46

I didn’t pay attention to the time, and it was quite liberating. At about 1 1/2 mile mark I was actually enjoying the moment in the zone, very comfortable in my Ascis Gel Kayno 19 with the FootBalance insoles in. The sweats running down my face were the hard earned drops resulted from patience, persistence and perseverance. It was only 300 calories that I was able to burn, but it was priceless. For over a month, I really looked forward to this day.

Of course, I was extremely careful whenever my left foot hit the pavement. I was very conscious of it landing on the ground and paid a great deal of attention to any degree of pinching or discomfort I would feel in the arch due to the impact. I visualized the landing in my head as my left foot did and made sure that it didn’t land with the forefoot so that it could avoid any level of impact that would result in pain in the arch.

Part of me also a bit worried from a small observation that I made – a bit of uncomfortable pinch in my right knee when I walked to work for the last few days and hoped that it would not be a problem once the knee braces were put on. So, my left foot and right knee literally kept me at my toes, and I had to make sure that I would not trip over any uneven parts of the sidewalks or potholes in the pavement.

Screenshot-2014-11-02-13.19a

While running, I sort of tested out a new technique – increasing running cadence. According to Competitor,

Cadence is the number of times your foot strikes the ground in a given time period, usually measured per minute. Because forward movement only happens when your feet strike the ground, it behooves you to get them off the ground as quickly as possible.

Your height, weight, leg and stride length and running ability will determine your optimal cadence. Everyday runners generally fall between 160-170 steps per minute, while elite runners strike the ground around 180 steps per minute or higher—with some getting above 200 at their fastest speeds.

I increased my cadence just a bit, although it probably wasn’t a whole lot noticeable, by making my strides short, and in return, I tried to reduce the impact on the bottom of my left foot as it struck the ground. In theory, when a number of cadence is higher,  each foot doesn’t have to wait too long to absorb the impact from the body weight as it hits the ground and is able to transfer  energy rather quickly to the other foot, which triggers a constant relay effect between the two.

After the initial warmup period of 1 1/2 miles or so, I realized that I didn’t even think about my left foot at some point. And when I turned the corner at about the 2 1/4 mile mark, to my surprise, my left foot actually handled the turning really well. Now I have full confidence that it will heal in time and that I can run the Surf City Marathon on February 1 next year.

Screenshot 2014-11-02 16.01.41

Speaking of marathon, the TCS New York City Marathon was held today. Due to the severe wind, it wasn’t an easy win for Wilson Kipsang, who already claimed his major titles in Berlin and London. His finish time was 2 hours, 10 minutes and 59 seconds, which is the slowest winning time in New York since 1995 according to ESPN, and that is more than 7 1/2 minutes off the world record that he set over a year ago in Berlin. He won the title only by 3 seconds against the 2nd finisher. The ever hopeful, two time straight NYC Marathon winning champion Geoffrey Mutai disappointingly came in sixth.

Screenshot 2014-11-02 16.01.57

Now that this year’s race came and went, they have already put the next year (November 1, 2015)’s race information on their website. When I actually looked up the 2015 TCS NYC Marathon: Entry Guidelines, I was rather surprised by the qualifying time for my age group. Under 3 hours. To be exact, 2:58. It is actually 17 minutes faster than the Boston Marathon qualifying time!

Since the registration for the 2015 TCS NYC Marathon will open on January 15, 2015 and close on February 15, 2015, if I ever ran the Surf City Marathon under 2:58, I would qualify not only for the Boston but also the NYC. But, it is an overwhelmingly challenging undertaking, and only 3 months left to run the Surf City, it’ll be interesting to see how my training goes.

Did you watch the NYC Marathon today? Or did you watch the race on the sidelines in New York City? Or did you get to run the race today? If you did, how did it go? Any tips to share?

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

