Never Forget to Pace Yourself!

16 mile run, training, boston marathon, surf city marathon,


I totally messed up today’s tracking on my Garmin watch by pressing the wrong button after waiting at the light, so it didn’t record a couple of miles till I realized that and resumed it for the mile and half or so. Thus, I’ve decided to use the data recorded on my MapMyRun app. It’s not as accurate as the data recorded with the Garmin, but it gives an idea as to what I’d like to briefly talk about on this post.

16 mile run, training, boston marathon, surf city marathon,

The temperature was perfect, although there were a bit of strong winds that I found a bit hard to run against. But overall, it was a cool day, which makes it perfect for a long run. The winds certainly lifted all the haze and the view of Mt. Baldy was amazing, which is at least an hour away from LA.

16 mile run, training, boston marathon, surf city marathon,

It took a lot longer to finish today’s 16 mile run because of my poor mistake. I didn’t pace myself well after the 12 mile mark and actually ran too fast, which in return backfired at an unforeseen cost. I got too exhausted and was having hard time recovering from it. And in the end, for the last three of miles I dragged. Literally.

16 mile run, training, boston marathon, surf city marathon,

So, I definitely learned my lesson. Don’t ever run faster than your pace. Period.

Now that the Surf City Marathon is only 5 weeks away, I really have to pay close attention to the schedule. And I’ve noticed that I do not have enough time to squeeze in any long runs that go beyond 20 miles, so I may revise it a little bit. Especially, I want to take advantage of this long holidays that I am having next week. Let me see what I can come up with, which will also reflect how many races I am going to run in 2015.

How did your weekend run go? Are you running any marathon in January or February? Are you all set with the 2015 race schedule?

Thanks for reading.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

4 responses to “Never Forget to Pace Yourself!”

  1. theblogrunner says :

    I’m not doing my first marathon until April, but have my first half in February. I find it tricky getting those long runs in without falling into the over-training trap – I’m old and slow, so get tired pretty easily. 😉
    I know a lot of people have 20 miles as their longest run before a marathon, but that seems a bit short to me when the race is 26.2. What do you usually do as your longest pre-marathon training run?

    Liked by 1 person

    • @ScorpioOnSUP says :

      Hahaha. Old and slow. Who isn’t, and if not, who isn’t going to get there soon? Every one wants to run faster than the time they just did. Even a minute faster. Or half a minute. 🙂

      That’s good that you have your half and full lined up. It’s exciting, isn’t it? So, I guess that at the moment, you’re sort of training for the half then, correct?

      Speaking of overtraining, I am not sure if that has ever happened to me. I thought I could always use more running. But then again, I may not be the best person to give you any advise or tips, since I’ve done only one of each, although I must say that I was training for the Long Beach Marathon till I got my left foot injured back in September. I ran up to 20 on that one.

      However, things happen for a reason, I believe, and I learned a few things, including about myself, due to the injury. One of them is to move on to the next opportunity, which is the Surf City Marathon on February 1, 2015. I am considering a couple more in March and April. Then probably I will be able to share a few tips with you. 🙂

      However, if I may, that is what I thought when I was preparing for my first full. Unlike my first half, running a full marathon seemed to be an overwhelming undertaking then. Not that I think it isn’t now, but like anything in life (old… wink wink), it seems manageable. Seriously. It’s like you know the drill once you’ve done it before, and you start to think about what needs to be done to improve, say, yourself or the results, if you’d like to give it a try again, that is.

      For my first full, I only ran up to 20 miles, like most do, like you pointed out, or most of training schedules suggest, and my right knee ended up giving up on me exactly when I crossed the 20 mile mark during the race. So, I had to drag myself in pain to the finish line.

      I do not know if running only up to 20 miles in training is the main reason why it happened now if you ask me, although I strongly believed then that it was. In other words, I believed that I was not conditioned enough, let alone the tolerance level of my bad right knee.

      However, like I noted above, you learn from your past experiences, and prepare better for the next time. For instance, I adapted to wearing knee braces (yes, plural) although I don’t have to wear them for short runs, say, up to 6 to 7 miles, but mostly I put them on anyway.

      Not necessarily trying to overtrain myself or anything, but rather I want to know if my body, or parts of my body are par with the level of a strenuous toll that a full marathon will take. And it is why I am seriously considering to run about 22 or 23 miles a couple of weeks before the race. However, as you know, things don’t always go according to the plan, and sometimes it’s good, and sometimes it’s not so good, but you know about your body and how far you can push yourself better than anyone else, so you will know what to do or what not to do. Of course, it gets easier when you’re motivated by others sometimes, but ultimately, like putting on your shoes and stepping out the door (or getting dressed by the coffee), it is you who have to make that push (because once you’re out there, you know you will run), not anyone. 🙂

      Lastly, if I go a bit further on what works for you… There are many articles talking about what form is best for you. It is suggested that your body slightly lean forward from your ankle up. But that isn’t always the case where all the record setting athletes have had.

      I think it is extremely important for you be aware of what works and what doesn’t, not in a obscure sense, but in a way that you really grasp a little things of your body by observing closely. That’s what trainers and athletes do and that’s how they get better and run faster. Since you don’t have one, or at least, I do not have one, I do it myself, and I keep track of what I do and try different things to see if they work and if not, move on to the next. 🙂

      Like

      • theblogrunner says :

        I totally agree about doing what works for you. I read an article recently about how ‘masters’ runners (sounds better than old, right?) often need more recovery time after longer runs, and I think that’s where my fear of over training comes in – I used to push myself to do what the training schedule said and ended up with recurring injuries. Now though, I tend to go my own way, trying different techniques and experimenting, but mostly by listening to what my body is telling me.

        In terms of my training program, I’m basically training for a marathon with the half seven before; to do it the other way round just wouldn’t leave enough time to get the distance up enough and have time for taper. My plan is to do 26 miles three weeks before the marathon, but I think that probably has as much to do with mental preparation as it does physical.

        Still, whatever happens, it’s all good fun and a great learning experience – one big experiment really. 🙂

        I’ll be interested to see how you feel about doing the 22 or 23 miles when the time comes and, if you do manage to fit it in, if you feel it’s worth doing.

        Thanks for your reply and words of encouragement. I hope the final 5 weeks go well and that you find some time to relax on holiday! 🙂

        Like

      • @ScorpioOnSUP says :

        It makes sense that you just combine the two and train as one. And I also would be curious to hear how you feel about running the whole thing before the race. It would be a lie if that never came across my mind, but based on what I have done, I find that last couple or maybe 3 miles are easy to finish after a long distance. I always try to break the distance down into small chunks in my head so that it is easy to manage. Say, if I just ran 4 miles out of 16, then I tell myself I’ve just covered ¼ of the distance, which may be not good if you look at the other ¾. But I tend to look at it by portion, so it tells me I have three more portions to complete and it keeps me looking at portion by portion. Because in the end marathon is too long to digest all at once, so I do it what my brain can manage while running. It could be too overwhelming to know how much is still left. 🙂 Anyway, I was going to say that I would not do run, walk, run, walk but I find that taking a brief walk or even a complete stop in between when I know I am tired actually helps and the run immediately after the brief walk is actually faster (pace wise). So, I am thinking of combining that more often, and when I ran yesterday, I actually stopped to take those photos to recover, although my mistake brought a disappointing consequence. But live and learn. 🙂 Let’s see how the remaining weeks go to achieve my BQ goal. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

