Tempo, Cadence, Stride Length!

What a difference! That’s what I wanted to see as soon as I was done running, and that is what I saw! 

cadence, tempo, stride length, pace, fast, comfortable pace,

As I thought about it last week, I decided to increase the tempo on MetroTimer to 94 from 92 to see if it would make a difference.

If you’ve been following my blog, I did this experiment over three weeks ago. You can read here. And now that I have found my comfortable pace since then, I decided to up it by 2 beats and see what difference it makes. The reasoning is that no matter how fast or slow I ran, my average cadence always stayed the same at 186 spm. So, it was about time to do something about it.

cadence, tempo, stride length, pace, fast, comfortable pace,

I kept the comfortable pace as usual. The average pace is still not that impressive at 7:20 min/mi, but what surprised me the most was the average cadence and stride length. Okay, my stride length has been going up and down for the last couple of weeks, so I’ll just leave it as is for now. I’ll have to get back to that at the end of this week to see if it stays about the same at 1.15 m even after the weekend long run.

However, it was the average cadence of 190 spm that really surprised me. Frankly, part of me wondered if the increased tempo on MetroTimer would really help it go up, but in fact, it did. And because 190 was my target cadence, I am very thrilled about it.

cadence, tempo, stride length, pace, fast, comfortable pace,  Dec. 27 cadence, tempo, stride length, pace, fast, comfortable pace,  Today

In order to see if there has been a significant difference between last Saturday’s 16 mile run and today’s, I’ve decided to compare the splits for the first 7 miles between the two. And what I am seeing isn’t that much exciting actually. I do not see anything that stands out. So, my guess is that my pace gradually drops after 7 or 8 mile mark, and that’s what drives my average cadence down, and that even my stride length suffers consequently.

This is something that I should keep in mind when I run. As I’ve increased the tempo slightly, there’s a possibility that my overall pace might suffer as well, till I get used to it, that is. Let’s see how my pace progresses this week.

How’s your Monday run after the Christmas holiday weekend? Did you run a race past weekend? How did it go?

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

