Fartlek Run and Daniels’ Running Formula

fartlek training, uphill, baldwin hills, training, running,

Fartlek had to come in the picture.

When I decided to work with the new training program, I was quite excited about the new challenges and the new possibilities.

But my right foot injury occurred. Since then, I’ve been anxiously waiting for the plantar fasciitis to lapse. Although it is mild, and as much as I want to get the training started, I didn’t want to take a chance. So, I haven’t even walked to work like I did before when my left foot in a worse shape. Part of me figured that my right foot could use rest while not walking at all.

But, another part of me now wonders if it was the half hour walk each direction every day that had helped my left foot regain strength as quickly as it did. Of course, I have to be clear on this – it’s been only 11 days since the right foot injury happened (not including the break after the marathon). I waited for 4 weeks to see if my left foot was ready.

Jack Daniels' running formula,

Meanwhile, I’ve checked out Jack Daniels Daniels’ Running Formula – 2nd Edition to help improve performance, mainly speed, from the public library and have been reading it.

jack daniels, 3rd edition, third edition, running formula, amazon,

And I learned that Daniels’ Running Formula-3rd Edition actually has a couple of more chapters on half and full marathon training, so I placed an order for a copy with Amazon.

So far so good. It is very technical, to say the least. It is filled with all the scientific aspects behind the conventional training methods. I had a bit of reservation at first when I read the reviews on Daniels’ Running Formula-3rd Edition before placing an order with Amazon because the majority expressed that the book seemed to be better accommodating training coaches than athletes in terms of what could be utilized in the book. Although it initially concerned me to a degree, once I started reading the copy that I checked out from the library, my reservation subsided and I am looking forward to reading Daniels’ Running Formula-3rd Edition.

This post is not about a positive book review. I have just begun reading the 2nd edition anyway. However, the book weighs heavily in on all the technical aspects, like VO2Max, vVO2Max, HRmax, blood lactate accumulation (BLa), lactate threshold, running economy, etc.

In other words, I will be working on fartlek and interval pace training not just because I think that they will improve my performance but because I know what specific techniques will do to improve what. And I am more excited about the training than before! Geeky part of me digs it!

I went to the gym yesterday and did routine strength workouts and a bit of leg workouts. After that, I did a 200 calorie burning StairMaster climb followed by a combination of fast walks and runs at on the treadmill at a 15˚ incline. It gave me enough confidence that I could go for a short run today.

fartlek training, uphill, baldwin hills, training, running,

Instead of usual runs, I ran straight to Baldwin Hills where I could do uphill run training. What I had in mind was fartlek training on the uphill.

fartlek training, uphill, baldwin hills, training, running,

What I did was I ran uphill at close to 90% of the fastest pace that I could run for a full minute, and then took a break of 2 to 3 minutes. I repeated that till I reached the top of the hill, and it ended up being 6 sets.

fartlek training, uphill, baldwin hills, training, running,

As shown above, as the elevation gains increased, I got tired and didn’t recover enough for the following sets, and subsequently my average pace slowed. Significantly after 2nd set. Unfortunately, I forgot to time the 5th and 6th sets separately.

Week Countdown Week Mon Tue Wed Thur Fri Sat Sun Total Amount
Pre-training 1 Rest 4 6 4 6 3 8 31
Pre-training 2 Rest 4 6 4 6 3 8 31
0
Pre-training 3 Rest 4 6 4 6 3 8 31
0
Pre-training 4 Rest 4 6 4 6 3 8 31
0

Once I get to the chapters for fartlek, lactate threshold and interval training, I will implement them more precisely. For now, I will have to complete the 4 week pre-training first, and substitute my fartlek with what I learn from the book. I will have to closely monitor if my right foot holds up well for the milage that I will rack up every day. Otherwise, my setback time will be more than 11 days.

How was your weekend training? Is fartlek part of your training? Do you keep track of your heart rates?

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

4 responses to “Fartlek Run and Daniels’ Running Formula”

  1. theblogrunner says :

    I hope that the foot problem is sorting itself out – it’s difficult to know when to stop resting and start strengthening again, but it sounds like you’re taking the right approach. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • @ScorpioOnSUP says :

      Thanks!!! Yeah, I realized that it was rather sore (not painful or anything) when I got home, so I immediately started icing it… for ever! It got better for a few hours and that’s where it’s at, but a hint of pinching sensation lingers when my bare foot lands on the floor with a more than mild impact. This is slightly different from what I had in my left foot. This is more on or near the heel than in the middle of the foot. And when I massage it with my thumb by giving pressure on the area where the heel begins, it definitely hurts as if it is sore, which is not in this case. I’m glad that icing it worked today as far as the initial pain’s concerned, but part of me wonders if this will really go away as I rack up an amount of miles each day that I’m planning to run… We will see. Hope icing and massaging it helps like it did for the other foot not too long ago. At this moment, I’m just glad that I haven’t signed up for any races before summer. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

