Pre-Training and 2016 Boston Qualifiers

The training for the last two weeks has been okay. Could’ve been better, but I haven’t been able to keep up with the schedule because of in part long hours at work for the last couple of weeks, which totally drained my desire to put my gear on and step out for the scheduled runs, and in part the great hike to San Jacinto Peak that I did last Saturday (you can read all about it here), but usually a hike like that involves a long drive both ways and my lower back is a wreck by the time I get home, and of course, last Saturday wasn’t an exception.

Week Countdown Week Mon Tue Wed Thur Fri Sat Sun Total Amount
Pre-training 3 3/16-3/22 Rest 4 6 4 6 3 8 31
4.11 6.24 6.24 16.59
Pre-training 4 3/23-3/29 Rest 4 6 4 6 3 8 31
4 6.06 6.24 3.12 8.01 27.43

As you can see, I skipped a few days last week and a day this week. But also there was a hike that lasted about 20 plus miles last Saturday, so it was not like I was completely out of training. Especially when the hike involved about a 6,000 elevation gain.

The problem with that hike was that I drove more than 2 hours each way to do this hike, and by the time I got home, my lower back was killing me and forced me to take the following day off. And another rest day.

boston marathon, training, 8 miles, 8 mile run, 25 seconds faster, 3/8/2015

boston marathon, training, 8 miles, 8 mile run, 25 seconds faster, 3/29/2015

Today’s 8 mile run was pretty good in that I kept M (marathon) pace pretty much throughout the run and that I had no problem breathing. Somehow I took it easy from the getgo, and I didn’t rush. Considering the fact that I haven’t been able to run 6 straight days every week consistently for the last 4 weeks as scheduled, it’s not that bad that I was actually able to shave 25 second off of the run time that I got for the same distance 3 weeks ago.

I hope that this is a progress that I am really making.

VENTURA-MARATHON-2015-SLIDER

And today I registered for the Ventura Marathon. As I talked about it here, I’m training to run the last two California races right before the 2016 Boston Marathon Registration opens sometime in September.

santa rosa marathon

I had thought that the Registration always opened the Monday following the first Monday of every September, which is Labor Day, but today I learned that the Registration for 2010 actually opened on September 9, Wednesday. So, it may be the case for this year as well, meaning I will have to qualify at the Santa Rosa Marathon on August 23.

For now, I’ll extend another week for the Pre-Training so that I can run another 8 miles before jumping to 10 miles in the following week. It’s all about building endurance.

How’s your training going so far? Are you disciplined in sticking to the plan, day in and day out? What do you do when things get in the way?

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

