Month in Review – March

running, marathon, march, 2015, Boston marathon, training, street running, running shoes, progress,

So, here we are again. That time of the month. Last day of March 2015. I ran the last run of the month earlier, and the tally is in. 98.67 miles. Well, it is 1.33 miles shy of 100 miles in total, when I was actually scheduled to run 128 miles. What’s not included in here though is 20 plus miles of hiking distance that I racked up last Saturday. Of course, it wasn’t even trail running, so it was just that, but at least, it involved about 6,000 feet of elevation gain and I’d like to think that it benefited my lungs more than not.

running, marathon, march, 2015, Boston marathon, training, street running, running shoes, progress, resolution, goal,

So, as of today, I’ve run 277 miles according to this graph. which marks 25% of the total distance. It coincides with the end of the first quarter of the year.

And 9 more months to go to achieve the goal. Hopefully sooner.

As I talked about it before, I believe that following through the next 20-week training program and running at least 3 marathons by the year end will definitely help me achieve that goal.

All I have to do is stick to the program and avoid injuries.

Week Countdown Week Mon Tue Wed Thur Fri Sat Sun Total Amount
Pre-training 1 3/2-3/8 Rest 4 6 4 6 3 8 31
6.26 4.07 6.10 3.03 8.01 27.47
Pre-training 2 3/9-3/15 Rest 4 6 4 6 3 8 31
4.31 6.25 4.16 3.12 17.84
Pre-training 3 3/16-3/22 Rest 4 6 4 6 3 8 31
4.11 6.24 6.24 16.59
Pre-training 4 3/23-3/29 Rest 4 6 4 6 3 8 31
4 6.06 6.24 3.12 8.01 27.43
Pre-training 5 3/30-4/5 Rest 4 6 4 6 3 8 31
3.11 6.23 9.34

As I noted above, the tally is 98.67 miles for this month. And as April begins tomorrow, I’ll wrap up this month-long pre-training period at the end of this week and gradually start to increase weekly mileage while working with different techniques, such as Fartlek or interval training, long hills running and tempo running.

Till the Santa Rosa Marathon in late August, it feels like a long time away, but it’ll be here soon. 20 weeks will fly by in a blink of an eye. And when it is here, I’ll find out how hard I have trained to qualify for the 2016 Boston Marathon.

D-day.

It’s coming.

How was your March? Did you stick to the plan? How was the overall running? What about April? Any races are you running in April? Or just training?

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

