Beginning of 20-week training

Boston Marathon, qualifier, training, running, jogging,

The past week was the last week of the 5-week Pre-Training period. And I was scheduled to end it with the last 8 mile run. Instead I did a strenuous 18 plus mile San Gorgonio hike via Vivian Creek past Saturday. Mother nature was very kind to us and once again I was on cloud nine. After the hike, however, many parts of my body were quite sore (and I blame it on irregular strength training), and I concluded that rest would do my body good, so I decided to take yesterday (Sunday) off. 

Week Countdown Week Mon Tue Wed Thur Fri Sat Sun Total Amount
Pre-training 5 3/30-4/5 Rest 4 6 4 6 3 8 31
3.11 6.23 4.13 6.26 4.09 23.82
Week 1 4/6-4/12 Rest 4 6 4 6 3 10 33
8.03 8.03

And I made up for it today. As you can see, I actually ran 3.11 miles last Monday to cover Saturday’s mileage because I knew I would not be able to run due to the hike. So, I only really skipped yesterday’s 8 mile run. And with the 8 mile run earlier tonight, technically I am not too far off the schedule.

boston marathon, race, training, 8 mile run, split, windy, chilly,

I gotta say though it was a quite windy and chilly night to run. The wind was blowing at 8 MPH SW when I started running and it never calmed down.

However, what’s important is that I felt pretty good. Of course, my 8 mile route always covers a few hilly parts of the street, so it was quite challenging to keep up with the pace – 6:54 min/mi. However, I knew the rest would help me recover from the fatigue, built up from the entire week of running and the long hike, quite a bit.

boston marathon, race, training, 8 mile run, split, windy, chilly,

I really liked the fact that I was able to keep most of my per mile paces under 7 minutes. Of course, this is part of endurance building, and it should get better over time. I believe that the next 20-week training will eventually help me accomplish my goal – under 3 hours, which is a 6:50 min/mi pace.

Boston Marathon, qualifier, training, running, jogging, core workouts, strength training Gotta love those plank workouts

And tomorrow I am going back to the gym for the core and strength workouts, followed by a 4 mile run in the evening.

One day at a time.

One week at a time.

How was your Easter weekend? Were you able to stick to the weekend runs? How is your pace coming along?

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

