Fartlek 2, 3, 4, 3, 2 w/ 2:30 easy 10K

fartlek, boston marathon, boston training, boston marathon qualification, qualifier, speed play, fartlek workout,

As the 2nd week began, it was time to apply the techniques. And the first to go was Fartlek. I looked into several different blogs and checked out a few websites regarding Fartlek training, and the suggestion on How to Run a Fartlek Workout from the Runner’s Resource seemed easy to follow through.

fartlek, boston marathon, boston training, boston marathon qualification, qualifier, speed play, fartlek workout,

One of the techniques many athletes and average runners alike utilize while training is Fartlek, which means “speed play” in Swedish.

Swedish coach Gösta Holmér developed Fartlek in 1937 and ever since, it was modified and revised to serve many different levels of athletes. However, the goal is the same. It is to improve speed and boost VDOT by varying the intensity to teach your body to recover quickly, no matter what level you’re at.

According to Wikipedia,

Fartlek, which means “speed play” in Swedish, is a training method that blends continuous training with interval training. Fartlek runs are a very simple form of a long distance runFartlek training “is simply defined as periods of fast running intermixed with periods of slower running.”

Also,

fartlek, boston marathon, boston training, boston marathon qualification, qualifier, speed play, fartlek workout,

I specifically chose the 2, 3, 4, 3, 2 w/ 2:30 easy workout to give it a try. My first Fartlek was tried actually over 1 ½ months ago, but because I was not conditioned enough then, lack of enough base training, I don’t think it was as effective as it could’ve been.

fartlek, boston marathon, boston training, boston marathon qualification, qualifier, speed play, fartlek workout,

6:49. Not bad, right?

vdot, vdot o2, marathon qualifying time, boston, boston marathon,

Based on the time and pace that I am supposed to run at, considering VDOT 49.6 for my marathon time and pace, yes, it is not bad at all. But, the fact is that I only ran 6.2 miles tonight. Not the entire marathon distance. So, I will never know if this is good enough yet.

Hopefully, next 19 weeks will be a plenty of time for me to train enough so that I can reach my goal – 3:00:00. A pace of 6:51 at VDOT of 54.2. Yes, it is ambitious. Dream big.

For now, I keep calm and fartlek.

How is your training going so far? Are you incorporating Fartlek workouts in your base training? Are you running this year’s Boston Marathon? Have you seen the improvement adapting Fartlek?

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

9 responses to “Fartlek 2, 3, 4, 3, 2 w/ 2:30 easy 10K”

  1. theblogrunner says :

    I do love a good Fartlek! I don’t usually plan them too much though and make it up as I go along, running by feel and using streetlights to mark out the distances. Lots of fun! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • @ScorpioOnSUP says :

      Yeah, it is fun, compared to just straight forward through runs… LOL I guess I kind of did Fartlek in the past. Whenever I finished running, say, I ran like hell for the last a quarter mile to the end point!!! 😉 LOL But, this time I’ve decided to do more ‘structured Fartlek’ runs. I am at the brink of breaking the 6:30 mark (although I ran under 6:30 a few times, but not in a average pace), and I really want to run faster. I mean, a whole lot faster. LOL 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • @ScorpioOnSUP says :

        Basically, it comes down to the qualification. 🙂 This year’s Boston is happening in less than a week, and I want to be there next year. 🙂

        Like

      • theblogrunner says :

        And you will, I’m certain of it. You’ve certainly got your head screwed on in terms of your approach to training, and your determination to reach your Boston goal will keep you on track for sure. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. @ScorpioOnSUP says :

    Thanks! Yeah, I really want to be there. And since my heart desires it, might as well work hard for it, and get it over at once. I do not want to drag it for several years, although as another year passes, the qualifying time for my age bracket will drop, which means I don’t have to train this hard… LOL But, at the same time, I do not want to keep trying and never succeed. I rather give my 110% and accomplish it and move on. LOL 🙂 (Not moving on from ‘running’ but working on another goal…) 🙂

    Like

  3. Aaron says :

    fartlek 4′-3′-2′ how to do that i dont udertands this?

    Like

    • @ScorpioOnSUP says :

      Hi Aaron. Thanks for stopping by. Fartlek means speed play, meaning you get to play with the intensity of your running speed, as I quoted, by combining periods of fast running intermixed with periods of slow running. So, what 2, 3, 4, 3, 2 w/ 2:30 easy 10K means is that you run fast for 2 to 4 minutes with a slow run for 2 minutes and 30 seconds in between while running 10K. Basically, by varying the intensity, you body is getting used to the intensity (of course, after a while) and you can actually play with your pace on the race day. The immediate result I saw was the increase of heart rate, which obviously very important for speed. I can seriously breathe better even on the uphill. But don’t go overboard because it take tolls on your body quite quickly and heavily and work on it as needed. If you can’t keep up with the times on your watch as you run fast, say, for 2 minutes, followed by a slow run for 2:30, and then 3 minutes…, what you can do is find a landmark that you can run fast to for approximately for 2 minutes, and then run slowly (Easy Pace) for 2:30 minutes and then run fast again to another landmark. I hope this helps, Aaron.

      Like

Leave a Reply

