6 Hills Interval Runs (220 yards at 5K w/ 1-2 Minute Breaks)

inteval runs, hill running, training, boston marathon, speed, running for speed

It was an interval run day. Run 220 yards (or 0.125 miles) uphill at 5K pace, 6 times. And in between take a 1-2 minute break. It was quite a challenge in that I could feel that my heart rate was reaching the threshold. Also known as lactate threshold workout. My calves and quads were very tight as I ran up the hill as if I was being chased by zombies.

inteval runs, hill running, training, boston marathon, speed, running for speed

Hill running at 5K pace meant that I would be running as fast as I could, with 1-2 minutes of a break in between. The accumulation of blood lactate made it difficult to breathe, and heart rate is as high as it can be. So, it is getting harder to keep the same pace as running up higher and more, while trying to recover as much as possible during the breaks.

Week Countdown Week Mon Tue Wed Thur Fri Sat Sun Total Amount
Week 3 4/20-4/26 Rest 0.75 3 6 6 3 12 30.75
11.02 0.65 12.75
6 Hills (220 yards = 0.125 miles) at 5K-10K pace, 1-2 minute break between intervals
0.91
0.17

Before the hill interval runs, I ran to the entrance of Baldwin Hills Park and ran down from the top to my car, which was parked 1/4 miles away from the entrance, once it was over.

inteval runs, hill running, training, boston marathon, speed, running for speed It shows what kind of hill I did my interval training on.

While up at the top of the hill, I didn’t forget to enjoy the view. Just missed the sunset, but the glow was still there. A cool breeze. It was a short but great workout.

How was your training today? Are you more motivated after yesterday’s Boston Marathon?

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

