5th Week of 20-Week Training and 14 Miles

intervals, hill runs, inteval hill running, sunset, 200 yards, traning, speed, strength, Baldwin Hills, 5k, 10k, 5k pace, 10k pace, marathon, marathon training,

Another week went by, and it marks that the quarter of 20-week training period is now gone. A variety of training filled the past week, starting with the arrivals of the new Asics Kayano 21 running shoes – interval running for speed and strength, 4-6 miles of endurance building and lastly the long run. Plenty to talk about.

training, marathon, new shoes, new running shoes, Asics, Asics Kayano 21,

The week began with the arrival of the newly bought Asics Kayano 21. As I talked about the new pair in the last post 4th Week of 20-Week Training and Asics Kayano 21, the blue/lime color that I wanted was not available at the Santa Monica store, so they had to ship the pair out of San Diego, and it got in last Tuesday.

training, marathon, new shoes, new running shoes, Asics, Asics Kayano 21,

Since I run in the evening after I come home from work nowadays, the illuminating lime fabrics and stripes as well as those silver reflective stripes on the shoes serve the purpose quite well.

Week Countdown Week Mon Tue Wed Thur Fri Sat Sun Total Amount
Week 5 5/4-5/10 Rest 1.25 4 6 6 3 14 34.25
0.8 4.1 6.2 6.2 3.1 14.12 34.52
6x 200 5K pace

And the first thing in order was interval hill running.

intervals, hill runs, inteval hill running, sunset, 200 yards, traning, speed, strength, Baldwin Hills, 5k, 10k, 5k pace, 10k pace, marathon, marathon training,

This paved road to the top of Baldwin Hills, aka Culver City Hills, is the perfect place to do interval hill runs, as I did it a couple of weeks ago. As it was getting close to the closing time, only few cars were going either up or down on this road, and many folks came out for their walks. And I saw a couple of guys actually doing exactly what I was doing – interval hill running.

The whole point of doing interval hill runs is to improve speed and build strength.

However, I pushed myself too hard this time, and by the time when I was done with the last (6th) run, I was not feeling well. Nausea and weakness. I had to take a few deep breaths to calm myself down while waiting for my whole system to stabilize, which eventually did.

As the intensity increased through multiple runs, lactate began to accumulate in blood, which obviously contributed to the fatigue. But too much acid builds up in bloodstream – lactic acidosis – too quickly, these side effects show.

It must have taken a quite bit of toll on my body. I sensed that my body was still quite fatigued when I ran only 4 miles next day. It concerned me a little on the weekend 14-miler.

However, my body recovered fully to run 6.2 miles the following day, without feeling any fatigue that dominated my body the night before. As if nothing ever happened before.

marathon, 14 miles, 14 miler, training, easy pace, boston marathon, evening run,

For the 14-miler, I took an easy pace throughout, except for the last half mile or so. I didn’t have trouble breathing for the most of the time, which is something that I am getting used to. It is definitely one of the benefits that I’ve noticed from following this training program. I am very glad to see solid progress being made that I didn’t have any problem breathing while my legs were doing all the work throughout the entire distance of 14 miles.

Of course, my legs were very tired once it was over. But I believe it’ll get a whole lot better. Throughout the next 15 weeks, I hope to see more progress being made in terms of speed.

How was your weekend training? Did you run any race? How did it go? Did you experience lactic acidosis before?

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

