6th Week of 20-Week Training, Rain and Glutes

rain, socal, training, downpour, lily, marathon, marathon training, interval, interval running, parking lot,

What a week! On the workfront, a couple of long days at work somehow made the entire week feel like never-ending. And the downpour that came and got us all excited about last Thursday meant that I was not able to do my usual evening run. But that is not how the past week went down at the end.

sunset, interval run, interval hill running, baldwin hills, marathon training, training, marathon, technique, interval runs, beautiful sunset,

The whole week was a lot more than expected.

Temperature wise, it could have not been better. Highs at 73F and lows at 55F. And a couple of days of a combination of drizzles, showers and downpours in the middle of the week. Once it started raining, the temp never went over 66F. Perfect.

The downpour last Thursday was much needed for the state although it was probably a couple of drops in a bucket. But, apparently, this rain turned into snow in the high Sierra as well as above 6,000 feet in the local mountains created such unexpected beauty in the middle of May that hikers enjoyed this fabulous extended winter hiking opportunities.

sunset, interval run, interval hill running, baldwin hills, marathon training, training, marathon, technique, interval runs, beautiful sunset,

I was able to get up early enough to squeeze in a 4 miler last Tuesday when I was scheduled to do interval hill runs after work. The day might’ve been a tad bit longer by running twice a day, and I was definitely tired at the end of the day, but the bottom line is that I wanted to push myself.

Of course, the following days of long hours at work didn’t help.

But, thanks to the downpour last Thursday that lasted till 10:30 pm, I ended up not running at all, which meant an involuntary rest.

Although I could’ve still gone out and run at 11 pm, something was telling me that I could take it easy on running on the damp and definitely chilly night streets with a slew of puddles of water in the dark, regardless of assistance of a headlamp.

Week Countdown Week Mon Tue Wed Thur Fri Sat Sun Total Amount
Week 6 5/11-5/17 Rest 1.7 4 7 7 4 8 31.7
4.01 4.08 7.01 7.04 10.10 32.84
0.36
0.24
4-5 Long Hills (400-600 yards = 0.3409 miles) at 5K-10K pace. I ended up doing 5 x 220 yards at 5K

This week I focused on two things – interval running and pace.

sunset, interval run, interval hill running, baldwin hills, marathon training, training, marathon, technique, interval runs, beautiful sunset, I start from here, which is the entrance of the Baldwin Hills Overlook.

sunset, interval run, interval hill running, baldwin hills, marathon training, training, marathon, technique, interval runs, beautiful sunset, It is an about 33 feet elevation gain to reach the sign, which is about 220 yards, and I ran up that portion of the hill under 50 seconds 5 times.

sunset, interval run, interval hill running, baldwin hills, marathon training, training, marathon, technique, interval runs, beautiful sunset,

Seriously the interval hill running isn’t easy. At least, for me and for now. I was supposed to up the distance from 220 yards to 400-600 yards this week, but I just couldn’t do it. Maybe it is because of the pace that I was at – 6:41 min/mi.

After Thursday, I knew I had to run more. Although I ran the unplanned 4 miler Tuesday morning, it was all about racking up the total amount of weekly mileage. Since I am committed to this training, might as well do it right.

There’s nothing better to improve endurance other than racking up more miles. So, I did 2 7 milers Friday and Saturday back to back and a 10 miler Sunday night. While running, I concentrated on my legs. Even if it was an easy pace that I was on, I made sure that it was my legs doing the work, not my upper body or lungs or heart.

glutes, stride length, pace, speed, run faster, training, supine glute activation, supine, marathon,

As I have started seeing the improvement to a degree, the correlation between stride length, pace and glutes has come into more clear view now. Admittedly, I haven’t worked on glutes much, but this surprisingly simple idea that by strengthening glutes I can run with a longer stride makes sense. Of course, a longer stride means faster speed.

And that is what I am going to focus on from now on while doing strength training.

How was your week? Did you stick to this week’s schedule? Did you run a race this weekend? How did it go?

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

