Week 9 – Endurance Building, 600-Mile Milestone and 18 Mile Weekend Run

sunset, daily run, training, marathon training, endurance building, one day at a time, enjoy the sunset, bike path, over baseball field, night watch,

Another week for building endurance came and went. As far as how it went down, I must say it was very productive. I exceeded my weekly mileage by 4.5 miles, even after the 18 mile weekend long run. I pushed myself running 7.25 miles 3 days in a row to build endurance. I also remembered to look back at the half marathon time that I had at the Duke City Marathon in ABQ, NM back in 2009, and it was quite interesting to see how far I’ve come in the past less than 6 years. And I am 100 miles closer to this year’s 1,100 mile goal than 18 days ago.

sunset, daily run, training, marathon training, endurance building, one day at a time, enjoy the sunset, baldwin hills overlook, interval training, hill running, interval hill training, view of downtown LA, view of Mt. Baldy, view of San Gabriel

This week’s training began with interval hill runs.

sunset, daily run, training, marathon training, endurance building, one day at a time, enjoy the sunset, baldwin hills, baldwin hills entrance,

Baldwin Hills where I’ve been doing interval runs for the last few weeks is quite close to work, but somehow it had never occurred to me that I could just run over there after work. I guess part of me just wanted to go home as soon as I was done with the training, rather than running back to somewhere else. In this case, running back to the parking lot.

Thanks to a closure of the bridge near work by the city for inspection, I decided to run over to Baldwin Hills (to avoid this newly created traffic congestion surrounding the bridge) as a warm up and to run back to the parking lot as a warm down when done with the training. And it turned out to be a very good idea.

Week Countdown Week Mon Tue Wed Thur Fri Sat Sun Total Amount
Week 9 6/1 – 6/7 Rest 0.75 4 7 7 4 18 40.75
0.61 7.27 7.27 7.26 3.5 18.00 45.26
0.75
0.60
6-7 Hills at 5K-10K pace
Pace 7:27, 6:42, 6:55 6:49 6:52 6:53 7:05 7:12
Time 4:33, 4:59, 4:10 49:32 49:57 49:59 24:53 2:09:30
Elev Gain 0 ft, 65 ft, 39 ft 147 ft 155 ft 126 ft 57 ft 277 ft

45.26 miles – tally for Week 9.

In terms of endurance building, I really pushed myself running 7.25 miles 3 days in a row this week. Instead of 4, 7 and 7, I decided to squeeze extra few more miles in to be prepared for today (Sunday)’s 18 miler. I could tell my legs were fatigued after 3 straight days though.

sunset, daily run, training, marathon training, endurance building, one day at a time, enjoy the sunset,

And the week came to an end with the weekend long run – 18 miles.

But, it turned out that it wasn’t my legs that were too tired but dehydration that almost threw me off. Something had told me that I may want to bring some more Gatorade than usual, but because I didn’t suspect that it was dehydration that got me exhausted two weeks ago when I ran 16 miles, I just didn’t.

It should’ve crossed my mind. But somehow it never did. And it was a hard lesson that I will never forget.

610 miles of 1100 miles

While running 18 miles tonight though, I crossed the anticipated 600 mile mark for this year’s goal of mine – 1,100 miles.

Now 55% accomplished. A little but promising milestone for myself.

Duke city marathon, half marathon, 2009, Albuquerque, New Mexico,

After last Sunday’s half marathon distance (13.1 miles), I got curious to see how fast I ran compared to my official half marathon time. Of course, I’ve got 11 more weeks to train, so it will eventually change.

But I really wanted to revisit my first half marathon.

I have only one official half marathon under my belt and that is the Duke City Marathon, which I ran in Albuquerque, NM, back in October 2009.

That is more than 5 years and 7 months ago, and come to think of it, I have gotten 5 years and 7 months older now, but I actually ran 10 minutes and 25 seconds faster than then.

  • 2009 Duke City Marathon record

    Half Marathon
    Runner Details    Race Results
    Bib:    1338
    Hometown:    Albuquerque, NM
    Overall:    126 out of 1201
    Men:    109 out of 555
    M 35-39:    18 out of 89
    Age/Grade:    58.48% Place: 300
    Finish:    1:43:08 Pace: 7:52
    Chip Time:    1:43:08
    Gun Time:    1:43:18

Of course, the pace of 7:52 min/mil definitely would have not been good to qualify for the Boston Marathon then nor now, however, considering the fact that it was actually my first half marathon ever, I was quite proud of it then and still am.

To make the long story short, after my first full marathon at the Duke City Marathon the following year (2010), which was disastrous due to the injury (yes, another injury during a race), I sort of stopped running altogether.

In part because I relocated to another city for a job, and in part because I didn’t know how to get back into running with my bad right knee then. And also hiking became a thing for me (and now I realized that it is what makes me happy).

Inspired by a friend though, I signed up for the Long Beach Marathon last year and started training but ended up not being able to run due to an injury – plantar fasciitis. I was quite disappointed then. However, my training to qualify for the Boston Marathon continued.

Regrettably, another injury during the Surf City Marathon earlier this year prevented me from accomplishing it. But, I am back again and am ready to achieve my goal.

Let’s hope that the next 11 weeks of training will help me avoid any injury, build endurance and increase speed.

How was your weekend run? Did you run any race today? Do you remember your first half or full marathon? How good or bad was it? How far have you come?

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

