Week 11 – Endurance

sunset, daily run, training, marathon training, endurance building, one day at a time, enjoy the sunset, bike path, over baseball field, night watch,

What began as a well planned out week resulted in a rather disappointing end. Because the weekend’s long run was supposed to be a 20 miler, I wanted to reschedule the runs throughout the week leading up to Sunday, and it went pretty good till Saturday when I hit the gym. And then the inevitable Sunday long run time came and I learned that things could unfold unexpectedly.

Week Countdown Week Mon Tue Wed Thur Fri Sat Sun Total Amount
Week 11 6/15 – 6/21 Rest 1.5 5 8 7 4 20 45.5
3.39 0.61 7.26 3.51 7.26 12.78 36.15
0.74
0.60
5-6 Long Hills (1/4 miles long) at 5K-10K pace
Pace 7:00 6:51, 6:49, 7:06 6:52 7:03 7:00 7:09
Time 23:45 4:12.3, 5:00.6, 4:17.6 49:51 24:45.89 50:53 1:31:16
Elev Gain 55 ft 0 ft, 49ft, 35 ft 200 ft 47 ft 134 ft 257 ft

Basically I failed to keep up with the past week’s schedule at a couple of major levels although my effort was pretty good at first.

Instead of resting, I started running from Monday so that I could rack up scheduled weekly mileage earlier on by moving all the runs throughout the week closer to the earlier part of the week and spare myself with a real rest day right before the Sunday long run.

I was trying to emulate the idea of tapering. Although it was not a perfect plan, it went well throughout the week.

sunset, daily run, training, marathon training, endurance building, one day at a time, enjoy the sunset, baldwin hills overlook, interval training, hill running, interval hill training, view of downtown LA, view of Mt. Baldy, view of San Gabriel

As usual, I found myself running Baldwin Hills up and down while doing interval runs past Tuesday, and as hard as it was, it was quite rewarding to know that my quads and hamstrings were doing the work while running at a faster pace than even a week before.

sunset, daily run, training, marathon training, endurance building, one day at a time, enjoy the sunset, baldwin hills overlook, interval training, hill running, interval hill training, view of downtown LA, view of Mt. Baldy, view of San Gabriel It is always great to look out from Baldwin Hills while the sun is about to set.

gym workout

And then, I took the Saturday off. But I didn’t stop training. While I didn’t even go for even a short jog, I hit the gym instead and did strength training – the core and the legs.

However, that was not the best idea the day before a 20 miler.

Sunday came, and I was planning to get up early so that I could do the estimated 2 1/2 hours of running in the morning, but I didn’t get up early enough. Especially, recently the temperature during day has risen to high 70s, so it is not a good idea to run into a late morning as it starts to warm up.

Or I find it hard to run in the warmer temperature anyway.

So, I decided to run in the evening. However, I could tell that my legs were sore from the workouts the day before. Although it wasn’t too bad once I started running, I knew I was not near the condition where I should be for the 20 miler. So, I decided to cut it short – 12.75 miles.

Not even a half marathon distance. Disappointed is quite an understatement.

However, I must keep at it. So, I will try to run 20 miles this coming Sunday. And I will try to get up early in the morning this week to make a transition from running in the evening to running in the morning.

I also hope that the next 9 weeks will help me improve not only speed but also endurance. I think more and more that marathon is not a speed play any more. It is all about endurance.

Endurance, endurance, endurance.

How was your weekend run? Did you run any race this weekend? When your weekend long run doesn’t go the way you planned, how do you make up for it?

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

