Week 12 – Fatigue, Lack of Motivation and 700 Miles

sunset, while running, training, marathon, marathon training, city,

One of those days, or weeks where fatigue doesn’t subside quickly enough to make you feel like dragging everything and that it goes further to dampen your spirit. It seems like nothing really works to snap out of it. And that’s what happened to me. The past week was a disappointing week on a few levels, and I am glad that now I have left it all behind.

Week Countdown Week Mon Tue Wed Thur Fri Sat Sun Total Amount
Week 12 6/22 – 6/28 Rest 4 4 8 8 3 12 39
2.01 7.25 4.51 7.7 9.26 30.73
4 x Mile at 5K-10K pace, but I ended up running 4 x 0.5 miles at 5K-10K pace
Pace 5:59 6:56 7:05 6:54 7:10
Time 12:00 50:15 31:59 53:08 1:06:23
Elev Gain 23 ft 168 ft 52 ft 186 ft 222 ft

The past week began with a rest day following the disappointing previous weekend’s long run. But I was really hoping to make up for it on the following weekend. And in spite of the fact that I knew that my body was quite tired from Tuesday’s interval runs, I pushed myself by running 7.25 miles next day.

Maybe it was a mistake. For the following 2 days, my body never got recovered from the fatigue.

On Saturday when I actually took a whole day off to rest up to get ready for the next day’s 20 miler, the weather was perfect to do just that. And when Sunday came, it was warm and sunny all day till that evening, contrary to the weather forecast. Although it felt like my body was rested, I didn’t find the run easy. So, I decided to cut it short just soon after 9 miles.

700 miles, 714 miles, 64%, 2015, 2015 goal,

While I was struggling to keep up with the past week’s weekly mileage, I reached another small milestone. I crossed the 700 mile mark, and that leaves only 386 miles for the remaining part of the year to cover, which is 6 months.

As Week 13 begins, I hope that I’ll recover from the fatigue and regain motivation to charge ahead. Only 7 weeks remaining, I need to keep building endurance.

How was your week? Have you ever felt so fatigued that you lost your motivation to keep running? What did you do? Did you take a whole week off to recharge yourself?

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

2 responses to “Week 12 – Fatigue, Lack of Motivation and 700 Miles”

  1. maddie says :

    Stay strong Peter! Maybe you need me to make you some spaghetti! :))

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

