Week 15: Disappointing Week – Work, Morning Runs, Heat and Sauna with Rain Drops

training, clouds, after rain, morning, the sun

During another busy week at work, I was hoping that I had time to run as scheduled, but it didn’t go as well as I wished. At least, the whole week of overcast mornings helped to a degree.  After the Saturday’s short run followed by a delightful downpour, today (Sunday) the sun came out early in the morning, which made the long run almost impossible for me to continue and forced me to cut it short. I tried again in the evening to make up for it but instead I found myself running soaking wet, worse than earlier, as if I was running inside a wet sauna.

Week Countdown Week Mon Tue Wed Thur Fri Sat Sun Total Amount
Week 15 7/13 – 7/19 Rest 4 3 5 5 3 24 44
3.41 4.18 5.3 3.52 3.39 27.31
7.51
4 x Mile at 5K-10K pace
Pace 7:22 6:54 6:43 7:17 7:06, 7:08
Time 25:07 28:53 35:33 25:38 24:04, 53:33
Elev Gain 62 ft 77 ft 75 ft 54 ft 58 ft, N/A

After last Sunday morning’s 18 miler, which I still can’t believe I actually ran in the heat, I went for a short run the following day (Monday), but definitely it was not a smart thing to do.

Usually, a rest day does not mean much to me, more like an excuse not to run, unless it’s a day after a long run, but I must’ve been very anxious about racking in more miles. I wanted to get the momentum building as well.

Also, part of me knew that doing interval running on Tuesday meant my run next day would be not easy as well.

In addition, I wanted to run as much as I could in the beginning of the week and give myself that rest day right before the Sunday’s long run. In other words, I was rather pushing myself hard.

What made sticking to the schedule very tricky was that the project at work demanded longer hours each day throughout the week, so I was very tired mentally and physically every night.

Saturday’s downpour was absolutely welcoming, and when I checked the weather forecast, Sunday morning was supposed to be overcast.

So much for the forecast. The sun came out early and stayed out till the late afternoon. I can’t perform well in the heat. Period.

On top of getting up an hour later than I planned, the food wasn’t digested fast enough before starting to run.

In other words, everything that could go wrong went wrong. After 3.4 miles, I cut it short.

In the evening I ran again to make up for it, but with the temperature of 73F and humidity of 93% plus constant rain drops, it felt like I was running inside a wet sauna. I was sweating so much that my top was already soaking wet even before I reached the 4 mile mark.

What a disappointing week this has been.

I am quite disappointed with myself because at the end of the day, it was me who let it all happen. Now that there’s only 5 weeks left to go, I am getting anxious about this part of the training. I really have to step up and own it.

How was your week? How did your weekend long run go? How do you balance work and training? Do you handle heat well? Any tricks to share?

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

