Week 16: Morning Runs and Carbo-Loading Meal Plan

The past week went well in terms of racking in the anticipated amount of mileage. And also, I came across a Runner’s World carbo-loading meal plan (a few weeks prior to a marathon race), which I found quite different from my carbohydrate concentrated meals (mostly pasta). And I put it to the test for the weekend long run, and the results are… so far so good.

Week Countdown Week Mon Tue Wed Thur Fri Sat Sun Total Amount
Week 16 7/20 – 7/26 Rest 6 4 8 6 4 12 40
6.51 3.47 4.01 7.23 3.52 10.63 40.01
0.85
3.79
Pace 6:58 6:42 7:06 6:51 7:06 7:19, 18:44, 7:34
Time 21:25 23:12 28:31 49:31 24:59 1:17:44, 15:54, 28:38
Elev Gain 194 ft 52 ft 54 ft 142 ft 57 ft 162 ft, 27 ft, 34 ft

This past week has been productive. I can’t say it was a perfect week, but it was close to what I hoped for. As you may have read in the last post, I was quite disappointed with myself in terms of training, and I felt like I hit the bottom. Of course, the work load got in the way. But it was part of the reason, not the entire reason.

And I really had to step up. So, I focused on consistency.

Once again, part of my plan was to run on Monday so that I can reserve that ‘rest day’ for the day before Sunday when I was going to give another try at a long run.

carb-loading meal plan, before race, before marathon,

One of the Runner’s World articles that I came across this week was a carbo-loading meal plan. This  meal plan is supposed to help a runner load him/herself with so much carbohydrates, aimed for carbs to take up 80-90% of one’s diet.

Following is a day worth of carbo-loading for a 150-pound runner, which works for me.

  • Breakfast
    1 bagel with 2 tablespoons strawberry jam (71 g)
    1 medium banana (27 g)
    8 ounces fruit yogurt (41 g)
    8 ounces orange juice (26 g)
  • Morning Snack
    2 Nature Valley Oats ‘n Honey Granola Bars (29 g)
    8 ounces Gatorade (14 g)
  • Lunch
    1 large baked potato with 1/4 cup salsa (69 g)
    1 sourdough roll (40 g)
    8 ounces chocolate milk (26 g)
    1 large oatmeal cookie (56 g)
  • Afternoon Snack
    1 Clif Bar (42 g)
    8 ounces Gatorade (14 g)
  • Dinner
    1 chicken burrito with rice, corn salsa, and black beans (105 g)
    1 2-ounce bag Swedish Fish (51 g)

Carb Total: 611 g

I like the fact that this doesn’t require too much prepping, and I actually put it to the test from last night. Because I was planning to run 20 miles, so I had spaghetti for lunch, and then had a chicken burrito with all the listed ingredients above. Also, when I woke up this morning, I had the breakfast listed above, along with coffee.

My stomach agrees with everything so far, and I will continue with the rest of the meal plan this week to see how it goes.

sunday, run, long run, road, no cars, training, long run, weekend long run, sunrise No cars on the road this early.

For this morning’s early long run, I tried to put myself in bed by 10:30 pm last night so that I could get up at 3:15 am. I didn’t have a problem getting up but my eyes were tired from lack of sleep. So, I decided to take a half hour nap after the breakfast, and I felt quite refreshed when I woke up.

sunday, run, long run, road, no cars, training, long run, weekend long run, sunrise

Although eventually the sun came out early again (contrast to the weather forecast), I was able to start early at 6:24 am, and the sun stayed behind the clouds for quite some time, unlike last Sunday. I was not rushing nor feeling tired.

However, after 10 miles in, I felt this discomfort in the bottom of my right foot. I tried to shake it off by taking a break a couple of times, but it persisted. So, I decided to cut my run short although I was a bit disappointed.

Part of me still wanted to see how it feels after walking a little bit, and after 0.8 miles, actually it felt better. It was not completely gone, but the discomfort was mild enough that I could suffer through it by pounding the pavement hard that it becomes numb.

Sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do, right?

The sun was no longer interested in hide and seek and came out from behind the clouds and stayed out. It was on the warmer side, but to be honest, it was not as bad as last Sunday’s. Actually it was not even as warm as yesterday either.

To my surprise, I didn’t even finish half the bottle of Gatorade that I brought with me. But then again, I was very careful about using Clif Shot today. I watched very closely when to take the next one, and once I reached 6 miles, I had my first package (1.2 oz/34g), followed by the next at the 9 mile mark. I wanted to stay on top of it to avoid any kind of dehydration and muscle fatigue.

About 14.5 miles, excluding the short walk, for today, and I think it was not too bad. I think that the endurance level hasn’t changed.

Injury is the worst thing that can happen during training as well as on the race day. I rather take it easy on it today so that I can run better tomorrow.

Screenshot 2015-07-26 12.54.18

Speaking of endurance, the lifespan of my Asics Kayano 21’s has reached the end. I was planning to run in them for another 100 miles or so, like I did with the last pair, but today’s discomfort in my right foot changed my mind. I am going to place an order for a new pair shortly.

How was your week? How did your weekend long run go? How do you prepare your meals, specifically carbo-loading, before a race? Have you tired such a meal menu list above? Did it work for you?

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

