Week 17: Lesson That Ventura Marathon Training Run Taught Me

Ventura Marathon, Vantura Pier, Ventura Marathon free training run,

It wasn’t a week with a lot of miles because it was part of tapering weeks. But the Ventura Marathon was holding a couple of training runs before the race, and I decided to give it a try this weekend. Today’s training run for me was only 18 mile long, which is a bit shorter than what I initially hoped to cover, but it also was a good learning lesson in terms of pacing myself.

Week Countdown Week Mon Tue Wed Thur Fri Sat Sun Total Amount
Week 17 7/27 – 8/2 Rest 3 3 5 Rest 3 26 40
3.51 1.73 5.01 3.51 18.06 34.08
1.19
1.07
Pace 6:59 6:01 7:00 7:13 8:01, 24:43, 10:08
Time 24:31 10:23 35:01 25:17 2:24:53, 29:25, 10:51
Elev Gain 59 ft 16 ft 71 ft 50 ft 111 ft, 0 ft, 8 ft
6 x 880s (=1/2 miles) at 5K pace

I don’t know how other runners handle the pressure of qualifying the Boston Marathon and the training, including tapering, when they have two races lined up almost back to back.

The Santa Rosa Marathon is on 8/23 and the Vantura Marathon takes place 3 weeks later on 9/13. Although I have not run all the long milers (20, 22 and 24 milers), I’ve been following the rest of the training program as closely as I could. Of course, work got in the way a few times, but now I’m at the end of Week 17, and the program says it’s time to taper.

Then, I got an email earlier this week, regarding 2 Ventura Marathon free training runs – one on 8/2 (today) and the other 8/23. Of course, I can’t run the latter because it’s the same day that the Santa Rosa Marathon is held, but I thought I could give today’s run a try.

Especially, I was not familiar with the city at all, so it seemed that the training run was a great excuse to drive out there, find out about where to park, and where the start line is with no pressure, and such.

Ventura Marathon, Vantura Pier, Ventura Marathon free training run,

Pressure was not there. But certainly it was not the best run I’ve ever run.

I went out a little bit too fast, which ended up costing my performance toward the end.

Of course, there are many little things that I will have to improve in the next 3 weeks, but it turned out to be a good trial run, gaining the invaluable insight in terms of elevation and pacing myself accordingly.

All this time, I had completely fooled myself believing that I could just wing it.

Asics Kayano 21, Asics, Kayano,

And my new ASICS Gel-Kayano 21 Shoes arrived this week, so I put them on for today’s training run. They were as good as the last pair, which I retired earlier today. Its last run was 3.51 miles last Thursday.

Asics Kayano 21, Asics, Kayano, over 400 miles, 431.6 miles,

Come to think of it, it didn’t even last full 3 months.

I was planning to wear them for another 100 miles after its initial lifespan of 400 miles, but since the discomfort that I experienced last weekend, I’ve decided that I would treat my foot, especially when both races are up coming up in a matter of few weeks.

15LaceUp_Logo_Horizontal

After today, I like the idea of having training runs. I like it so much that I just have registered for one of the Lexus LaceUp Running Series Training Runs – Palos Verdes – 9/27, 7 a.m.

IT5A0741-1024x683

It will be a good opportunity to do another oceanfront run before the Long Beach Marathon on 10/11, for which I signed up a long time ago, although it is only either 5K or 10K.

Of course, the Long Beach Marathon isn’t one of the Qualifiers at which I was aiming before the official Boston Marathon Registration opens in mid-September. And, even if I run in the qualifying time, it’ll be for the 2017 Boston Marathon.

But who knows? I may not make it at either Santa Rosa or Ventura this year. I can only do my best. And wait for the result.

Ventura Marathon Training Run 04 Ventura Pier this morning

Based on today’s training run result, I realized that it is all about the experience and that it is very important to remember that. It has been very stressful in terms of training, and along the way, I got burned out (think about it. 25 weeks is a long time, and I have deferred all my hikes and backpacking trips for it) and lost what made me want to run in the first place.

It’s time to bring it back.

How was your weekend run? Have you done any training runs? Do you find them useful and also accurate in terms of your race pace?

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

