Recovery – Kinesiology Tape, Compression Sock and Night Splint

compression sock, plantar fasciitis,

After the injury plagued debacle followed by the emotionally disappointing and yet self-assured smart decision of suspending the training last weekend, I took the early part of the week completely off to see how my feet were doing. But that doesn’t mean that I didn’t do anything in terms of getting this recovery progressing.

In fact, a couple of items that I purchased arrived in the mail, and it turned out that quite a pleasant surprise exceeded my expectations in terms of home remedy. Now I am quite looking forward to the full recovery of my right foot from plantar fasciitis and left leg from shin splint.

compression sock and running tape 2 A setup before going to work – Kinesiology tape on my left leg and compression sock on my right foot

One of the first things that I purchased from Amazon is Feetures! Plantar Fasciitis Sleeve Sock, the compression sock, which I used in the past to recover from plantar fasciitis in my left foot. Also, I started using Rocktape Kinesiology Tape for Athletes more vigilantly for my shin splint plagued leg.

adjustnightsplintlrg It is super light and really works!

And I also ordered this United Surgical Adjustable Night Splint from Amazon. It is the most customer approved item, so choosing it was easy. I tend to value customers’ reviews to find out about what’s liked and what’s not, and it appeared that most of those who bought it were not disappointed by it. Of course, I can’t say I didn’t have doubts.

I put it on the first night when I went to bed, and it sort of kept me half awake because whenever I tossed and turned, I remembered that it was on my right foot and leg. And it wasn’t something that I got immediately used to. I am now after a few days, but I will not completely forget that it is there.

So, what is the conclusion?

It works!

The pain that had lingered every morning for the last 7 months or so was gone. I had no pain whatsoever next morning when I woke up and put the weight on my very foot as getting off the bed. As though it was completely healed!

Of course, it was not, and the mild pinching pain came and went throughout the day when I walked. But, one thing is certain – I did not limp!

I can’t believe that I resisted the idea of adapting it for so long! Adjustable Night Splint really rocks!

cycling class, cardio workout, leg workout, morning, gym, class, cycling, It doesn’t show how many calories that I actually burned because WATTS interchanges with KCAL for viewing, and I missed the moment to capture. The distance was over 21 miles and the time was 62 minutes. For the gear, we switched it up and down between 10 and 20 at the RPM of between 60 and 120.

Meantime, I’ve turned to cycling to keep my cardio up during this recovery time. I tried swimming last time, but I didn’t think I benefited much from it then.

And I actually quite enjoyed the cycling class. A lot of huffing and puffing and sweating. A little bit like StairMaster (for huffing and puffing and sweating), but it involves pedaling.

I’m planning to attend the cycling class 4 times a week, 3 times during weekdays (Monday, Wednesday and Friday) and 1 time on Saturdays. I believe it’ll help keep up the cardio level that I must sustain while taking a break from actual running and also increase overall strength.

Frankly, I am thinking of incorporate this cycling workouts into the post-recovery/next training. I can’t wait.

leg workout, linear leg press, One of my favorite leg workouts – linear leg press

Also, I’ve decided to work on my core and legs more frequently to build strength. It was something that I didn’t handle as diligently as I should’ve toward the end of my training, but I am taking this down time opportunity very seriously.

Once I was done with leg press, I did lunges and squats.

I am also planning to add dead lift and squat with weights soon.

My core workouts consist of the usual suspects – planks, push-ups and crunches. Each workout gives enough muscle building to strengthen my core as well as shoulders, chest and upper arms.

So far, I am taking this down time very positively. If you think about it, there’s nothing that I can do about what already happened. So, I only focus on what I can control. And that is my recovery.

I just hope that both plantar fasciitis and shin splint go away soon. But I will make sure that there’s no recurrence. I think that that is more important.

How did you cope with injuries? Did the night splints work for you when you tried them on? How long did it take for you to beat it completely?

Don’t forget to subscribe if you already haven’t. Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

