Recovery – Healthy Breakfast with Avocados and Continuous Home Remedies on Plantar Fasciitis

cycling class, cycling, gym, cardio, sweat,

Second week of recovery. While working on my cardio in cycling class, I’ve decided to revisit my diet as well. It isn’t a drastic overhaul of my diet yet, but it surely is the beginning. This is something that I am going to do more research of and evaluate in the weeks to come as I am slowly recovering from my foot injury.

breakfast, 750 calories, calories, avocado, banana, sourdough bread, havarti cheese, I’ve decided to change it up a little bit.

First things first. The breakfast. Since avocados are in season, I’ve decided to take advantage of that to the fullest. Along with the usual suspects – coffee, orange juice and Greek yogurt, I’ve added my favorite Havarti cheese to sourdough bread (cheese melt!) that I adopted for the carbo-loading meal plan and laid wedges of avocados on top. They are just perfect.

breakfast, fruit yogurt, greek yogurt, yogurt, fruits, banana, nectarine, healthy, yummy

And nectarines are also in season, so I’ve added them to Greek yogurt along with bananas. I don’t necessarily want to have it this way all the time, but whenever bananas and other fruits are available, I slice them up and toss them in the couple of scoops of Greek yogurt. My favorite is Oikos Plain Nonfat Greek Yogurt.

I must say that this is inexpensive. I watch what I spend, and I pick fruits that are only in season, which makes them cheaper. Also, it is quite cheaper too when you buy plain one in a large container – Oikos Plain Nonfat Greek Yogurt.

  • Orange juice – 8 oz – 110 calories
  • Sourdough bread – 1 slice (45g) – 110 calories
  • Avocado – 146g – 234 calories
  • Banana – 110g – 100 calories
  • Havarti cheese – 1 slice (22g) – 90 calories
  • Greek yogurt – 115g – 70 calories
  • Coffee – 8 oz – 1 calories
  • Total: 715 calories

cycling class, cycling, gym, cardio, sweat, I hit the gym again and peddled as hard as I could. As usual, I drank water out of my favorite foldable Vapur Element Bottle.

The company that I work for moved past week. Thursday to be exact, and since I oversaw the move, it was rather hectic especially when it involved a lot of packing and organizing cartons, equipment and furniture. Because of that reason, I decided to take it easy on the physical training past week – keeping up with my cardio plan (cycling classes 4 times a week). So, it was great to be back on the saddle and peddle for over an hour (over 21 miles again) to sweat like crazy and burn more than 450 calories yesterday. I needed that.

Here’s the progress report on my injuries.

Shin splint

My shin splint in my left leg seems to have subsided a bit that I do not feel any discomfort when I walk up or down stairs. I’ll keep monitoring as to how I further feel about it.

Plantar fasciitis

I use the United Surgical Adjustable Night Splint every night when I go to bed, and it keeps all the pain in the morning at bay. I have no doubt that it really prevents the pain in the bottom of my right foot from surfacing in the morning and coming back throughout the day. At the same time, I massage it with my Due North Foot Rubz Foot Hand and Back Massage Ball while sitting at my desk along with a frozen water bottle at home.

I can’t say that I’m seeing any further progress yet though other than no pain in the morning. I still have pinching pain when my foot doesn’t land right, which clearly demonstrates that I still may have a bit of long way to go. Of course, it’s been only a couple of weeks since I fully implemented the combination of home remedies, so it’s not surprising.

Not being able to run isn’t something that I can easily deal with especially when my dream is to run Boston. But priorities change as anything else in life, and right now the recovery is the most important thing. My love for hiking and backpacking also needs functioning feet.

Along with that, I’d like to lead a much healthier, uplifted and energetic life.

Do you have a specific meal plan in place? Are you thinking of changing your diet? How many calories do you take in to maintain your training?

Subscribe if you already haven’t. Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

