Recovery – Pulled Muscle, Muscle Relaxant, Pain Medication, 4.5 Mile Recovery Run and Cycling Class

sunrise, saturday, run, recovery run,

This past week was all about pain and excitement – dealing with the unexpected pulled back muscle, followed by a recovery run, and keeping up with cardio via cycling at the gym. More recovery runs are in order now, but I am definitely not rushing it.

The last Sunday I had an episode of acute back pain. Unlike the two previous episodes (right in the center of lower back), this time the pain came in only the left side of lower back. Especially when it came, I was not doing anything physical, so the only reason why I could think of was a bit of heavy cartons and equipment lifting during the company moving a few days prior.

Naproxen, Baclofen, medication, prescribed drug, prescrition, pharmacy, pain killer, muscle relaxant, muscle relaxer, pain reducer

I took some Iboprofen and leftover Baclofen from the previous episodes, but they didn’t seem to be working. In fact, it got worse the next day when I got up. Also, I couldn’t sleep well due to the pain at night either. So, I paid the doctor a visit for stronger painkiller. The doctor prescribed Naproxen, and I took it along with Baclofen twice a day.

To my surprise, healing took longer. Almost 4 days.

But as painful as it was, by Friday afternoon, I was back pain free.

And to celebrate it, it seemed also logical to test how my left leg (with shin splint) and right foot (with plantar fasciitis) were holding up. It had been almost 3 weeks since I completely stopped running.

sunrise, saturday, run, recovery run,

I got up early Saturday morning and went for a run. I wanted to run at least 1.5 miles or so, hoping though that I could run up to 3 miles. But I realized that my feet and legs were fine other than a very mild sensation of discomfort in my right foot.

recovery run, 4.5 miles, training, recovery, healing, run, slow, take it easy,

4.5 miles.

I really took it easy. No pressure.

rose, flower, saturday, run, recovery run,

And I even had fun making frequent stops to take photos of flowers.

And then I went SUPing.

I was free of lower back pain and shin splint. Of course, based on the mild sensation of discomfort, the foot injury (plantar fasciitis) is still healing, and that is okay. The recovery can be slow, but it is healing. That’s all that matters.

cycling, recovery, cardio, sunday

And cycling.

I will slowly add short runs each week while monitoring whether or not the pain in the foot returns. I may not be recovered enough to run the Ventura Marathon or the Long Beach in early October in time, but I’d rather take time to heal completely.

How is your Labor Day weekend training going? The summer is almost over, and the days are getting shorter. How’s your daily running going? 

Subscribe if you haven’t already. Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

6 responses to “Recovery – Pulled Muscle, Muscle Relaxant, Pain Medication, 4.5 Mile Recovery Run and Cycling Class”

  1. 유다맨 says :

    Good to hear that your recovery run went smoothly. I see the pace 7:38 min/mile which is fast for me. I ran a half marathon last Saturday and I finished at 1:40.50 7:41 min/mile pace. My goal was to finish in 1:40. It was so close but I was not able to maintain my pace after 10 mile mark. This means that I need to improve my stamina. However, it is promising because I shorten my minutes by 9 min then the previous half marathon that I ran a month ago. I am excited to run a full marathon in Oct 17. I have 35 days until then.

    Liked by 1 person

    • @ScorpioOnSUP says :

      That is awesome! Congrats!!! It’s always great to see a runner making progress! 🙂 can’t wait to hear how your full marathon goes. As for me I am sort of emptying my mind about the races and letting my foot heal properly. I haven’t posted it yet but I event went hiking on Labor Day. It didn’t hurt my foot. I’ll let you know when I post it. Anyway, let’s see if I can run the Long Beach Marathon in October. Not for speed though if I decide to. I’m still recovering for sure. 🙂

      Like

  2. theblogrunner says :

    Hey. Just dropped by after some injury time off myself. It sounds like you’re taking the right approach – short sensible training runs, monitoring the pain and listening to your body. Frustrating as it is to have to take time off, allowing your body to heal properly will be worth it in the end. Take it easy for now and I’m sure you’ll be back on track soon. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • @ScorpioOnSUP says :

      I’ve been taking it easy but at the same time I also ran and hiked. Short runs of course (if you check the Garmin activities, you will see them). So I guess I am sort of prolonged this recovery process…, which is not smart on my part, but I just can’t help it. LOL Anyway, hope you start running soon. I also hope I can give my Boston dream another shot soon… 🙂

      Like

      • theblogrunner says :

        I saw some of your activities on Garmin and it looks like you’re doing well, all things considered. Keeping as active as possible without aggravating the injuries is key, and Boston will still be there when you’re ready. As for me, I’m taking it slowly by having another bash at C25K, as long as the leg holds out. Fingers crossed… 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • @ScorpioOnSUP says :

        They will. But rest is the key for everything I am learning – recovery AND pace improvement. Yeah, I totally agree that Boston will still be there WHEN I am ready. In fact, if I wait for a couple of years, I will have extra 15 minutes extra to play with… 😉 LOL LOL LOL

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

