How This Year’s Goal Was Successfully Accomplished

point fermin, ocean, san pedro, it is a perfect place to go for a run

Four months ago when I suspended my BQ training, I had no idea how everything would turn out. What was going through my mind is hard to describe. Disappointment and discouragement can’t describe it all but close. My both feet were in pain, let alone the tight left hamstring and the bad right knee.

Rather reluctantly but admittedly, I quit training and immersed myself in the recovery mode. And it was a right thing to do.

For the following three weeks, I tried to concentrate on strength training. But the keyword here is tried. As the progress was not being made (although it had been only three weeks), the level of motivation plunged. Meantime, my knee pain worsened. I became numb about the whole process, which led me to the point where I simply stopped running.

For a whole month.

Don’t get me wrong. I still went to the gym 2-3 times a week, working on my core and legs. But with the motivation dismal in existence and the worsened knee pain, it was not easy to see the end of the tunnel from where I was.

It truly dampened my spirit.

It started to concern me with a question if I could actually achieve my goal that I set out to do in the beginning of the year – running 1,100 miles by the end of the year. I even celebrated my 500 mile mark here.

At this point, the last day of the year was still about 1 1/2 months out and I was only about 90 miles short of the goal, thanks to all the training that I did throughout summer, so achieving the goal didn’t look that bleak.

But, only if I were able to run without knee pain.

As I talked about it here in Week 19: Suspending My Training, Shin Splints and Plantar Fasciitis, despite the fact that I racked up many miles, it was too much, too soon and too fast, which led me to today’s injuries.

While pondering how I could start running again without worsening my knee pain, let alone avoiding any further injuries, I’ve noticed that my quadriceps were slowly getting stronger as I started incorporating more squat workouts and deadlifts. Also, I alternated my routine leg workouts with the following.

  • Lunge jump
  • Single-leg jump
  • Reverse run
  • Box jump
  • Toe tap
  • Skip

In the middle of all this, I moved to a new place. While lifting and carrying the boxes out of the apartment and to the truck, I noticed that slightly bending my knee upon my right foot’s landing minimized pain or no pain at all.

Then, the light bulb came on over my head.

What if I run like that till my knee is stronger.

Part of me was very cautious about it but I wanted to give it a try any way.

And it worked.

I was able to run 4 miles with my knee bent upon my foot pounding. Of course, I took my time. 8 plus min/mi pace. It was slow.

But it didn’t matter. What mattered was that I was happy being able to run again and that I was 4 miles closer to my goal.

And with that, I slowly added a few miles every 2-3 days.

2015 total mileage, running goal, achieved, accomplished, 1100 miles,

On December 20, 2015 I achieved my goal for this year. And I am very proud of myself in accomplishing that goal.

Now that I can run, the inevitable question has arisen.

Do I want to run 1,100 miles or more in the new year?

I am not sure at the moment. And I am still recovering. My knee is not strong enough to go for longer distances, like 10 plus miles. It still hurts when my foot lands wrong way.

But part of me really wants to train for the Avenue of the Giants Marathon on May 1, 2016, which is a Boston Marathon Qualifier.

How are you coping with your current injuries if you have them? How did you recover from them if you did? Now that there is less than 4 days remaining to the end of the year, are you close to achieving your goal? What is your goal? Share your story with me. I want to hear how you overcame the setbacks.

Thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About H Peter Ji Photography

I am a photographer. My photos have been sold on EyeEm, Adobe Stock and ShutterStock and also featured on ViewBug and G+ Landscape Photography Community, and via Death Valley National Park Instagram and Facebook. My work is the natural byproduct of my love for outdoors - backpacking, hiking and camping in nature.

Leave a Reply

